Mitchell Traffic Commission
                                                 September 17th, 2018
                                            City Council Chambers


Approve Agenda


Request For Speed Limit Change From Rowley Street To Spruce Street

Justin & Janelle Thiesse own an 8-plex at 1705 South Rowley and request the speed limit be changed on Rowley Street to 25 mph all the way to Spruce Street.  Traffic is exceeding  35-45 mph in the 25 mph zone and they are unable to turn out of the complex.  (see attached request).

Request To Change Current One Way Street Configuration

Dan Beukelman requests to change 2nd, 3rd and 4th streets from the current configuration (two-way one block off of Main, then one-way after that) to be two-way streets from Lawler to Minnesota Street.  With the upcoming construction coming on North Sanborn, 2nd, 3rd and 4th we will have to change the blocks east and west of Sanborn to be two-way during the construction time anyway, or many people won't be able to drive to their homes. (see attached proposal on one-way streets in Mitchell for detailed request information.)

Request From DWU For Consideration Of Adding New Crosswalk

Kevin Adams from the DWU Physical Plant requests consideration of adding a crosswalk from Koka Hall across to Dakota Hall.  DWU would also like curbs painted yellow in all five locations on the west side of Dakota Hall. The middle three curbs on the attached drawing would be all painted and the end two curbs would be painted six feet out (see attached request and drawing.)
The next Traffic Commission meeting is scheduled for Monday, October 15th, 2018.  The time will be announced at a later date.

Committee meeting agendas are scheduled based on an estimated time of completion. If a meeting concludes prior to its scheduled time the next committee may start its proceedings early.

The City of Mitchell invites all parties to give oral or written comments. If special accommodations are required, please notify the Public Safety Department at 995-8400 at least 24 hours prior to the scheduled meeting.

Lyndon Overweg

Committee Members
Jeff Smith, Dan Allen, Steve Rice and Kevin McCardle